NEWS: 2013 European Rallycross Launch @ Lydden Hill

Today sees the launch of the amazing FIA European Rallycross Championship at Lydden Hill in Kent – with an incredible all-star driver line up, including the legendary Petter Solberg lining up against rallycross regulars, like Liam Doran for a Citroen DS3 Supercar 600bhp war! It's going to be epic. And so, to get you in the mood, check out this 2012 race in hideous wet and muddy conditions at Lydden last year. Great dog fighting. Great driving. Great event. Go this year... it's epic. 
This year sees the FIA European Rallycross Championship's "biggest and best line up of permanent drivers ever assembled in the event’s 40 year history – with 15 permanent Supercar drivers entered, the group is three times bigger than the number that took part in all rounds of the 2012 series and will be supplemented at every Championship event by a mix of star 'wild card' entries and national heroes." 
We are cuffed to bit the line-up and entry list is so illustrious and packed out and will be following the round closely, even guest blogging on the ERC website –
And it's going to be ace to see 2003 WRC champion, Petter Solberg back in rallycross, where hsi career all begin: "We are delighted that Petter Solberg has chosen to race in the FIA European Rallycross Championship, it’s great for the Championship and will be really interesting to see how the regular guys respond to the challenge of racing against a former World Rally champion," said Martin Anayi, Managing Director of RallycrossRX at IMG Motorsport.
And the Supercar permanent entry for 2013 features the current FIA European Rallycross Champion Timur Timerzyanov, as well as the 2012 champions from the Super1600 (Andreas Bakkerud) and TouringCar (Anton Marklund) categories, both of whom graduate to race Supercars in 2013.
The all-star field assembled for the 2013 Championship, which is being promoted for the first time by IMG Motorsports, part of IMG Worldwide, the global sports, entertainment and media company, also includes former European champions Mats Lysen, Knut Ove Børseth, Ronny Scheveneels and Michael De Keersmaecker as well as X Games winner Liam Doran.
"We have put together a top quality entry of permanent drivers in the Supercar category, half of them already proven European champions, who have committed to take part in all rounds of the Championship. The core entry of 15 permanent Supercar drivers represents an enormous increase in entry level as only five drivers took part in all rounds of the 2012 Championship. However even more compelling is the fact that we have more than 15 other guys who want to come in and do more than two events each this year, including some of the biggest names in motor sport. We have the perfect balance and we cannot wait to feature these guys in our global TV coverage and start delivering a fantastic platform to take RallycrossRX to the next level," said Anayi
The 15 permanent drivers represent six different countries, drive cars from six manufacturer brands and include seven current or former FIA Rallycross champions. Also among them is 20-year-old Swede Timmy Hansen who has made a career change from single-seater racing to rallycross to capitalise on the introduction of a Championship Promoter for the very first time in its history.
With up and coming Norwegian starlet, Alex Hvaal, former French champion Davey Jeanney, as well as current and former Swedish champions Peter Hedström and Stig-Olov Walfridson and British event winner Andy Scott, there is real talent throughout the field that represents the majority of key rallycross markets.
"When you look at the permanent driver field RX has and add in the ‘wild cards’ and local rallycross heroes coming in per event, we see the Championship as becoming a “must go to” event for motor sport fans across Europe in 2013”, added Anayi.
The nine-round 2013 FIA European Rallycross Championship opens with the British event at Lydden Hill on Easter weekend (March 31-April 1). Will you be there? We will!

Be a part of #RX:
Twitter: @RallycrossRX | |

Get a list of all the FIA European Rallycross Championship 2013 'permanent' Supercar entries & see more video on our Facebook page:

2013 FIA European Rallycross Championship
March 30 – April 1 Lydden Hill, Great Britain
April 26-28 Montalegre, Portugal
May 24-26 Nyirad, Hungary
June 7-9 Kouvola, Finland
June 14-16 Hell, Norway
July 5-7 Holjes, Sweden
August 30 – September 1 Loheac, France
September 13-15 Greinbach, Austria
September 20-22 Buxtehude, Germany


Popular Posts